Fifty Shades of I Don’t Care

Red-Valentine-Heart-with-Cupids-Arrow-in-the-Bullseye

I was devastated by the news.

Entertainment Weekly broke the story (November 13, 2013)–

The scheduled opening of the movie adaptation of Fifty Shades of Grey is being pushed back from August 1, 2014 to February 13, 2015.

I screamed when I read this….

until….

I got to why they changed the date.

Speaking as a lady, I have to say that no company has ever been more generous and thoughtful than Universal Pictures. No wonder why they say corporations are people!

I’ll let Chairwoman Donna Langely explain exactly how Universal Studios has got our backs, as reported by Entertainment Weekly (November 13, 2013):

“We see this movie as a global event,” Universal Pictures chairman Donna Langley tells EW. “The strength of this book is really worldwide, so we want to be able to take advantage of women who are invariably on vacation with their families during the month of August in Europe.”

Now the film will debut on Valentine’s Day weekend, beginning on Friday, February 13, 2015, which also coincides with the President’s Day holiday, giving Universal the opportunity to post a big three-day number for that frame.

Damn, that was so considerate of Mr. and Mrs. Universal! I know those sloths in Europe go on vacation in August. They owe Universal a solid, and I’ll tell you why–speaking for myself, this book is so personal to me that I would never want to see it in a theater farther than five miles from my home.

And, as all the rags are pointing out, there could not be a better Valentine treat!

To truly understand the implications of the date change, I turned to the The Seattle Times (November 13, 2013):

A Valentine’s Day release is fitting for the erotic romance, but it also moves the film out of the lucrative summer movie-going months. February is often a dumping ground for Hollywood’s less prestigious releases.

I don’t know whether Valentine’s Day is a fitting time to release an erotic romance about S&M– but I do know that this movie will be perfect for a dumping ground.

2 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of I Don’t Care

Leave a Reply

